Congress of the United States Washington, DC 20515

January 11, 2024

Dear Speaker Johnson and Leader Jeffries,

As you work to finalize Fiscal Year 24 appropriations legislation and other must pass bills, we urge you to exclude the creation of a so-called fiscal commission, especially with language that creates a "fast-track" process around regular order.

Fiscal Commission legislation currently under consideration by the House Committee on Budget would create a process in which legislating would be done by a small group of individuals behind closed doors. The goal of these commissions would be to produce legislation that cuts benefits and calls for an up or down vote without hearings, and that is unamendable.

This is not a simple debate over process. Without member input and public review, fiscal commissions have historically recommended cutting or privatizing Social Security:

- The *Greenspan Commission*¹ was the basis of the Social Security Amendments of 1983, which resulted in a raise in the retirement age that was the equivalent to a 13% benefit cut, a tax on benefits for middle income retirees, and the creation of the Windfall Elimination Provision (WEP) which reduces the benefits of nearly 2 million public servants.
- The *President's Commission to Strengthen Social Security*, established by President George W. Bush, issued a report outlining three models of partial privatization of Social Security.²
- Most recently, the *Bowles-Simpson Commission*³ recommended raising the retirement age, reducing the cost-of-living adjustment (COLA), and reducing benefit amounts for many earners.⁴

Given this track record, and the stated intention of the Republican Study Committee, a Commission would have fast-track authority to enact greater cuts to Social Security and other programs vital to the American people. This is no profile in courage, it's a direct circumvention of the process to expedite cuts to Social Security.

Let's be clear, a Commission is not the solution. There is no shortage of legislation that will improve the fiscal standing of the United States while directly benefiting the public. Democratic proposals include legislation that would extend Social Security's solvency for another generation

¹ Formally the National Commission on Social Security Reform

² https://www.ssa.gov/history/reports/pcsss/Final report.pdf

³ Formally the National Commission on Fiscal Responsibility and Reform

⁴ https://www.cbpp.org/research/bowles-simpson-social-security-proposal-not-a-good-starting-point-for-reforms#_ftnref2

while *expanding* benefits the American people rely on – benefits that haven't been expanded in more than 50 years. It is Congress's responsibility to conduct the oversight and recommend enhancements to solvency or cuts, and it should be done in the open and not behind closed doors.

We do not need a Commission to tell us what we must do, we need the political courage to take up these or any other proposals in regular order. Committees and subcommittees must have the ability to hold hearings to examine policy and mark-ups so that improvements can be made on behalf of our constituents.

We urge you to commit to regular order by opposing the creation of a fiscal commission in any must pass legislation.

Sincerely,

John B. Larson

Member of Congress

Jan Schakowsky

Member of Congress

James P. McGovern

Member of Congress

Ted W. Lieu

Member of Congress

Joe Courtney

Member of Congress

Bill Pascrell, Jr.

Member of Congress

Kirds J. Jang

Linda T. Sánchez Member of Congress

Dwight Evans
Member of Congress

If he

Terri A. Sewell Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Orney d. Paris

Gwen S. Moore Member of Congress Brian Higgins Member of Congress

Judy Chu Member of Congress

Joseph D. Morelle Member of Congress

Joseph D. marelle

Donald Norcross Member of Congress

J**W** Tokuda Member of Congress



Mafine Waters

Eleanor Holmes Norton Member of Congress

Katie Porter Member of Congress

Maxine Waters
Member of Congress

Troy A. Carter, Sr. Member of Congress

Henry C. "Hank" Johnson, Jr. Member of Congress

Raúl M. Grijalva Member of Congress Nikki Budzinski Member of Congress

Matt Cartwright Member of Congress

Summer Lee Member of Congress

Ilhan Omar Member of Congress Kweisi Mfume
Member of Congress

Dan Goldman Member of Congress

Kevin Mullin Member of Congress

Barbara Lee Member of Congress

Mark Pocan Member of Congress John Garamendi Member of Congress

Marament:

Robin L. Kelly Member of Congress

Grace F. Napolitano
Member of Congress

Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez Member of Congress

Val Hoyle Member of Congress



Emilia Strong Sykes Member of Congress

Susan Wild Member of Congress

Ro Khanna Member of Congress

Andrea Salinas Member of Congress Pramila Jayapal
Member of Congress

Jamie Raskin Member of Congress

Tony Cárdenas Member of Congress

Lois Frankel Member of Congress

Rashida Tlaib Member of Congress Julia Brownley
Member of Congress

Manette Diaz Barragán Member of Congress

Shri Thanedar Member of Congress

Dina Titus Member of Congress

Ferrold Nadler
Member of Congress

Jason Crow Member of Congress

Melanie Stansbury Member of Congress

André Carson Member of Congress

Jesús G. "Chuy" García Member of Congress

Delia C. Ramirez
Member of Congress

Seth Magaziner

Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Jasmine

Robert C. "Bobby" Scott Member of Congress

ahkn

Deborah K. Ross Member of Congress

> Cori Bush Member of Congress

> Becca Balint Member of Congress

Jamaal Bowman, Ed.D.Betty McCollumMember of CongressMember of Congress

Frederica & Wilson

Frederica S. Wilson Member of Congress Debbie Wasserman Schultz Member of Congress

Alma S. Adams, Ph.D. Member of Congress

Chris Deluzio Member of Congress

Donald M. Payne, Jr. Member of Congress

Eric Sorensen Member of Congress

Andy Kim

Member of Congress

Ayanna Pressley
Member of Congress

Same S. Presoly

Ritchie Torres

Member of Congress

oaquin Castro

Member of Congress

Mark Jahan

Mark Takano Member of Congress Adam B. Schiff Member of Congress

Debbie Dingell
Member of Congress

Nydia M. Velázquez Member of Congress

Stephen F. Lynch Member of Congress Sean Casten

Member of Congress

Lisa Blunt Rochester Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Suzanne Bonamici Member of Congress Bonnie Watson Coleman Member of Congress

Bornie Wateral rlema

Mary Gay Scanlon
Member of Congress

Thank Pallone, Jr.

Member of Congress

Colin Z. Alfred
Member of Congress

Chellie Pingree
Member of Congress

Chell R

Paul D. Tonko Member of Congress Bill Foster

Bill Foster Member of Congress

Adriano Espaillat Member of Congress

Jonathan L. Jackson Member of Congress

Mary Sattler Peltola
Member of Congress

Grace Meng

Member of Congress

Frank J. Mrvan
Member of Congress

John P. Sarbanes Member of Congress

Sheila Cherfilus-McCormick Member of Congress

Valerie P. Foushee Member of Congress

Doris Matsui Member of Congress

Don's Matsur

Robert Garcia
Member of Congress

Robert J. Menendez Member of Congress

holet Menuly

Member of Congress

Teresa Leger Fernández Member of Congress

Veronica Escobar Member of Congress Gabe Amo Member of Congress

Anna G. Eshoo Member of Congress

Sheila Jackson Lee Member of Congress

Mark DeSaulnier
Member of Congress

oe Neguse Member of Congress Jared Huffman Member of Congress

Shontel M. Brown Member of Congress

Jared Moskowitz Member of Congress

Madeleine Dean Member of Congress

Bennie G. Thompson Member of Congress